top of page

Conservation Commission

In 1977, Vermont passed the enabling legislation (24 V.S.A. Chapter 118) to establish municipal conservation commissions. The major goal of a conservation commission is to establish community responsibility or stewardship for its natural and cultural resources. There are now 94 conservation commissions statewide. A commission is comprised of three to nine members who are appointed by the selectboard. Each commission tailors its projects to the specific needs and interests of its town. A conservation commission can assist the selectboard and planning commission with natural resource issues; make an inventory of the town's natural, historic, and cultural resources; receive gifts of land for conservation purposes; and encourage the public's understanding of local natural resources. A conservation commission empowers people to take responsibility for their town's natural and cultural resources.

The Enosburgh Conservation Commission (ECC) was established in 2000, when its first set of by-laws were approved by the Selectboard. This 6-member board is made up of community volunteers who serve for 2-year terms. The ECC meets at the Cold Hollow Career Center (downstairs) at 6:30 pm on the 3rd Monday of each month. All meetings are open to the public.


Sarah Downes -Chair
Ben Maddox -Vice Chair
Cynthia Scott -Treasurer
Wendy Scott -Secretary
Dennis Williams
Charlotte Dennis
Steve Boal

bottom of page